What You Can Learn From My Worst Months on Medium

And How They Have Changed What I Write

Darryl Brooks
7 min readSep 30, 2020

How long have you been writing on Medium, and what were your worst months?

I’ve only been here for seven months, and I’ve had three. That’s a pretty lousy average, except for one crucial point.

I learned something from each one of them. I not only learned from them but modified my approach. And you can, too. Preferably, analyze your own worst months and take something away from them, but that’s not what you came here for. You came to learn from me.

So, sit down, Grasshopper, and snatch the pebble from my hand.

The First Worst Month

I think for most of us, the first month was the worst. I’m talking about the first full month. I earned $22. From what I have read, I should be happy with that. A lot of people did much worse in their first month. Some people still aspire to do that good. If that’s you, keep reading; maybe I can help. But for me, it was my worst month by far, and I hope it always will be.

If your first month wasn’t your worst, then I think you need to take a close look at your work anyway. If you had a great first month and it went downhill from there, then something is not quite right. Either that first month was a…

--

--

Darryl Brooks

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons